saurkraut pierogies

I know I post alot about cabbage, but I can’t help it, I love it. So here goes:

Ingredients:
Dough:
Flour(1 cup per 6)
Olive oil
Water
Salt(1/4 tsp per 6)

Filling:
1 lg russet or 2 small whatever potatoes
Salt and pepper to taste
2 oz. sauerkraut (recipe for fresh kraut in earlier post)

Method:
Mix salt and flour together. Mix in a little water, then splash in a little oil. Add enough more water to make dough. Roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch. Cut rounds out with a glass(I used a pint.)
Dice and then boil potatoes for 20 min. Mash with the sauerkraut, 1 1/2 tbps each caraway seed and dill seed. Scoop some filling into each round, then fold those in half and seal with a fork. Saute in about 2 or 3 tbsp olive oil, flipping often, until browned on both sides. In the mean time, super carmelize 1/2 an onion in olive oil. Combine and serve.

Or, alternately, instead of sauteing, deep fry the prepared pierogies until golden brown (as pictured above).

2 comments on “saurkraut pierogies

  1. Christine Coning says:

    I made these and they were so good. I also made some with prune filling inside. Delicious.

Leave a comment